Respond to Review of Haymarket Bookstore Cafe
by Sarah P
Review: It's true, several people I know (as well as myself) have been informed by staff that certain seemingly-vegan items contain milk. The tempeh in the tempeh tacos, as mentioned in an earlier listing, as well as one of the tofu dishes have been reported by staff to contain milk. Nobody I've known for all the years we've gone to Haymarket ever knew about that. I found out after I saw a newspaper article published about the owner, and included was a recipe for tempeh that called for cow milk. I then asked staff about items on the menu items and was informed about the items many of us assumed were vegan that actually contained dairy. I believe these items should be better labeled or presented on the menus. YOU HAVE TO ASK ABOUT EVERYTHING ON THE MENU, INCLUDING DRESSINGS, BREADS, SOUPS, TOFU AND TEMPEH.