Respond to Review of CLOSED: Green Republic
Review: My wife and I (both vegan) stopped for lunch while on vacation. I ordered a bbq chicken wrap and my wife order a lentil rice bowl. We also ordered a smoothie to be made with soy milk. My wife opted for brown rice (a $2 up charge from white rice) and the "naan" (a $3 up charge). My wrap was the most pathetic looking wrap i had ever seen. Inside the tortilla was white rice (of instant Uncle Ben's quality) one slice of chicken (looked like from an yves packet), about a tables spoon of black beans, a tablespoon of rice, and some lettuce. There could not have been more than $0.75 worth of ingredients. It took me four bites to eat. My wife's $15 lunch consisted of a huge pile of rice with about a 1/2 cup of cooked lentils next to it. The "naan" was simply a tortilla folded in half a few times and heated in the microwave. The smoothie was not made with soymilk (they were out, and we weren't offered a refund of the $1 upcharge), so it was simply frozen berries and water blended together. So, our $30 lunch was horrible. This had to be the most dissatisfying vegan lunch I had ever had. Also, this place has no tables. The only positive is that they are open on Sundays.[edit by staff]
I am one of the owners of Green Republic, I do remember you and your wife, and I thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to review us. Honest and balanced reviews do help us to better our restaurant chain, however, it seems by the tone and content of your review that you came into the door having already made the decision you wouldn't enjoy the meal. This is especially so, because you both left with nothing left on your plates at the end of the meal and when you were asked repeatedly, as is our policy, how your food was, your response was that everything was good. You gave us no opportunity to rectify any situations you felt didn't meet your expectations. Had you told us you were dissatisfied we would have bent over backwards to make sure that you left happy, however we were not given this courtesy. We have a fully automated point of sale system that allows us to pull up past orders, yours included, to which I will reference in my response.
The item that you described is not on our menu. The correct item is a severely customized Blackened Chick-un Burrito. We make all of our own meats in house, and the standard number of chick-un slices in your wrap would have been six. The rice used in your wrap is the same imported basmati (from Nepal) that was in your partner's Indian dish. There is no way you can confuse basmati with Uncle Ben's, it is a fragrant, long grain white rice that does not resemble white rice in taste or texture. Your customization removed the avocado, corn and tomatoes, deviating from our standard recipe, that would have added bulk (and significant flavor) to your wrap. Mixed greens were added to replace that as a courtesy to you, as we felt it looked empty. You can-not fairly review a wrap that you customized to such a degree away from the original recipe as it is not a true representation of one of our most popular items. You would have been better served ordering a Havana Black Bean rice bowl, because this is in essence what you created. We use 12" tortillas, so your "four bites" must have been quite large.
Our rice bowls, including the Dhal Lentil your partner ordered are quite large by all standards. To get world class quality Indian food with authentic rice and a large quantity for $8.95 is a bargain compared to any major market that would be $15-18. These are dishes that take hours to authentically prepare, they are much more than simply "cooked lentils". Our executive chef has been cooking Indian food for over 20 years, being originally trained IN India. Your partner was notified that the "naan" was an interpretive "naan" (Naan contains ghee which is clarified butter, clearly not Vegan). Your smoothie was blended with lite soy milk, so as not to drown out the flavor of the fruits, this may have been why you perceived it as being watery. As far as tables, this store is 90% take out and delivery, and the presence or absence of tables says nothing about the quality of the food. Our newest stores opening in the Chicago market, embrace our new prototype which allows seating for 24 people plus the existing take-out business which is part and parcel of our business model. Green Republic is a rapidly growing chain, and we take the customer experience very seriously, as any restaurateur should. My apologies that you did not enjoy your meal, but to reiterate, you did not take the proper steps to change that while you were dining with us. Thank you for your feedback and happy eating. E. Scott.
Posted by vegangolfpro on Friday, February 22, 2013