HappyCow Guide
The most trusted vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide since 1999  
.
 
 
 
 
Going vegan!
Going vegan! - Is there more than one type of vegan? - Discussion Forum

Is there more than one type of vegan?
October 30, 2012 10:54PM
Hi, I'm new to this group and to vegetarianism. In fact, I'm currently not even a vegetarian. I guess I'm what you'd call a pescetarian. I don't eat dairy, egg or land animal meat, but I do eat seafood.
I get closer to being a vegetarian every day. I think the better I eat the worse any kind of meat tastes.

I was just wondering if vegans had various stages of veganism, like lacto and ovo-vegetarians and such.
I don't know the difference between a vegetarian who doesn't eat dairy or egg and a vegan. I can say this for sure, I love to eat healthy and I am very active in doing my part to make positive changes in the world, but I will never give up alcohol and garlic (root vegetables). If ALL vegans must give these items up then please let me know and I will leave this group immediately and be happy with a vegetarian title.


Thanks Everyone
Re: Is there more than one type of vegan?
October 31, 2012 07:08AM
Vegans don't eat or use any animal products, so no meat, seafood, eggs, dairy, or honey. Vegans do eat garlic and other root vegetables because they are vegetables, not animals. You are probably thinking of some buddhists who don't eat garlic or onions, as well as no animal products. Some alcohol is vegan and some isn't (if it's processed/filtered using fish or egg products). Barnivore is a good website that says which brands of wine and beer etc. are vegan or not: [www.barnivore.com]#

Good luck!
Re: Is there more than one type of vegan?
November 01, 2012 12:52PM
Thanks kimward8, that's good to know on the root vegetables, I was definitely confused on that. I will look into the alcohol, I'm not a big drinker, but I do like an occasional beer or glass of wine.
Thanks again, I appreciate the info smiling smiley
Dean



Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/02/2012 05:45PM by oldgreenhippie.
Re: Is there more than one type of vegan?
January 02, 2013 10:41AM
I've heard of a sub-genre of vegan called "flexible vegan" or as my friend has said "cheatin' vegan".
From my understanding these vegans do not eat any dairy or eggs but if it is one of the ingredients in the item (such as bread, cake, etc) then they will go ahead and eat it.
Sorry, you do not have permission to post/reply in this group's forum. You must be member first- consider joining.

 Become a Member of this group to post in this discussion.

Search all PostsSearch Group Posts

Search MembersSearch All Members

Vegetarian Shirts