HappyCow Guide
The most trusted vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide since 1999  
Going vegan!
Going vegan! - Long Time Coming... - Discussion Forum

Long Time Coming...
October 08, 2012 10:26AM
I have never really liked the taste of meat, so being vegetarian has always been somewhat natural, but as of September 10th this year, I decided to try going vegan, but I know little of what I can and cannot eat. Being that I work at a small restaurant, I am allowed to bring in my own items to consume throughout the day so long as I keep them in the community fridge. Well... A friend of mine (who loves her meat...) recently jumped on board, at least in the aspect of trying to help me out. She knows someone who harvests their own honey and doesn't use nasty chemicals to produce it. I was wondering if that kind of honey is still out of bounds for a vegan, if it is produced and harvested without harming the bees it comes from...? I always kind of assumed to just steer clear of honey, but my friend suggested that and it made me wonder. The topic came about because we were talking about sweeteners for tea. I don't want to use sugar, because I'm getting in my own herb plants (chamomile and 2 others whose names escape me) and wanted to make my own tea for personal use. From before, I do recall that honey has a healthier, sweeter taste than sugar. Any information and ideas would be appreciated. Thanks, guys. smiling smiley
Re: Long Time Coming...
October 08, 2012 10:34PM
Try agave nectar, it's a vegan honey alternative made from cactus.
Re: Long Time Coming...
October 09, 2012 09:02AM
Oooh, interesting. I've never heard of that before. I'll have to see if I can track some down from the local health food store. Thank you very much! smiling smiley
Re: Long Time Coming...
November 01, 2012 06:48PM
I also am a big tea drinker and I swear by stevia. It is an herbal sweetener that does not affect your blood sugar at all - which is important, it has no calories and you only use a teeny tiny bit in your tea. I know alot of people use agave, but be warned that it is high in fructose. When buying stevia, watch the ingredient list and make sure it is either the only thing on the ingredient list or at least the #1 ingredient. There are many companies out there selling "stevia" with little or no stevia actually in it. Many of them use maltodextrin as the main ingredient. Good luck!
Sorry, you do not have permission to post/reply in this group's forum. You must be member first- consider joining.

 Become a Member of this group to post in this discussion.

Search all PostsSearch Group Posts

Search MembersSearch All Members

Vegetarian Shirts