HappyCow Guide
The most trusted vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide since 1999  
Going vegan!
Going vegan! - Vegan Liquor - Discussion Forum

Vegan Liquor
March 23, 2009 02:13PM
Does anyone know of any liquor that is Vegan? IE: wine, beer, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated =)
Kit Kit
Re: Vegan Liquor
March 25, 2009 06:17AM
Re: Vegan Liquor
March 26, 2009 02:50AM
I didn't know that beer and liquor weren't vegan friendly? that's depressingSad Why aren't they?
Kit Kit
Re: Vegan Liquor
March 27, 2009 08:51AM
Wines And Beers

Wine is clarified, or cleared, after fermentation. Some of the ingredients used include:

- edible gelatins (made from bones)
- isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish)
- casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins)
- animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood powder)

In the UK beer (bitter) is also commonly fined using isinglass. Many bottled bitters and most lagers are vegan. Guinness is not suitable for vegans. Most spirits are vegan except for Campari (contains cochineal) and some Vodkas (passed through bone charcoal).
Sorry, you do not have permission to post/reply in this group's forum. You must be member first- consider joining.

 Become a Member of this group to post in this discussion.

Search all PostsSearch Group Posts

Search MembersSearch All Members

Vegetarian Shirts