Hi my name is rob all skunk a nick name given to me bye my daughter. I was having a chat with friends on face box about gelatin, and what was interesting was the number of vegetarians how didn't know what it was. Some were consuming jelly others were horrified that it was present in soap so I'd like a list of foods hiding gelatin in there ingredients many thanks skunk. And there goes my shed windy here in the valleys
Good topic to post Rob. I have noticed that many supplements here in the states have gelatin capsules. Any vegan/vegetarian diet can be supplemented with vitamins that use vegetarian based gelatin. Agar Agar is a wonderful gelatin substitute for culinary purposes. Just learned via Wikipedia that it is also used in Microbiology and such. Interesting....
Gelatin is found in so many products, it's frightening. No wonder "gelatin" rhymes with "skeleton". For those who don't know, it comes from the boiled crushed bones, connective tissues, skin, organs and intestines of cows, horses and pigs. Who wants to eat that? How disgusting.
Carrageen is another vegan alternative - it comes from seaweed. Once I began reading labels on boxes, I started noticing "carrageen" was a frequent ingredient on a lot of vegan treats.
Gelatin totally grosses me out man! Who the freak thinks of this stuff? Using animal bones sounds like some creepy witchcraft thing. It really is surprising how many vegetarians or even some vegans do not know about gelatin. I know that gelatin is present in jello, marshmallows, some flavours of Poptarts (including the fruit flavours and the brown sugar cinnamon ones if I remember correctly), most gummy candy, some jellies, and even some yoghurts. I heard that it is used in a lot of sweets because the animal bones are used to filter the sugar. I also found gelatin in nail polish remover but I am not sure if it is in all brands.
Hi I'm Shannon and new to Happy Cow. I am also shocked about how many products contain gelatin. I have got the point where I only shop for food at Earth Fare. This is because I recently purchased an item at my local grocery store and thought it was ok. After a few bites I just felt weird. Well it had gelatin in it. It obviously is my own fault because I evidently didn't read the label as well as I should.