HappyCow Guide
The most trusted vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide since 1999  
All animal rights activists
All animal rights activists - Gelatin - Discussion Forum

June 23, 2012 10:56PM
Hi my name is rob all skunk a nick name given to me bye my daughter. I was having a chat with friends on face box about gelatin, and what was interesting was the number of vegetarians how didn't know what it was. Some were consuming jelly others were horrified that it was present in soap so I'd like a list of foods hiding gelatin in there ingredients many thanks skunk. And there goes my shed windy here in the valleys
Re: Gelatin
June 24, 2012 10:14AM
Good topic to post Rob. I have noticed that many supplements here in the states have gelatin capsules. Any vegan/vegetarian diet can be supplemented with vitamins that use vegetarian based gelatin. Agar Agar is a wonderful gelatin substitute for culinary purposes. Just learned via Wikipedia that it is also used in Microbiology and such. Interesting....
Re: Gelatin
June 24, 2012 12:11PM
I didn't know about Agar Agar. Cool.

Gelatin is found in so many products, it's frightening. No wonder "gelatin" rhymes with "skeleton". For those who don't know, it comes from the boiled crushed bones, connective tissues, skin, organs and intestines of cows, horses and pigs. Who wants to eat that? How disgusting.

Carrageen is another vegan alternative - it comes from seaweed. Once I began reading labels on boxes, I started noticing "carrageen" was a frequent ingredient on a lot of vegan treats.
Re: Gelatin
June 26, 2012 10:46AM
Gelatin totally grosses me out man! Who the freak thinks of this stuff? Using animal bones sounds like some creepy witchcraft thing. It really is surprising how many vegetarians or even some vegans do not know about gelatin. I know that gelatin is present in jello, marshmallows, some flavours of Poptarts (including the fruit flavours and the brown sugar cinnamon ones if I remember correctly), most gummy candy, some jellies, and even some yoghurts. I heard that it is used in a lot of sweets because the animal bones are used to filter the sugar. Sad I also found gelatin in nail polish remover but I am not sure if it is in all brands.
Re: Gelatin
June 26, 2012 02:32PM
Poptarts? Groovychick, say it isn't so, man! My husband loves those things and I'll sneak one every now again. Now they're off the list!

ok, I just went to the pantry and checked the ingredient list on our Frosted Cherry poptarts. Gelatin!
Re: Gelatin
January 12, 2013 10:54PM
Hi I'm Shannon and new to Happy Cow. I am also shocked about how many products contain gelatin. I have got the point where I only shop for food at Earth Fare. This is because I recently purchased an item at my local grocery store and thought it was ok. After a few bites I just felt weird. Well it had gelatin in it. It obviously is my own fault because I evidently didn't read the label as well as I should.
Sorry, you do not have permission to post/reply in this group's forum. You must be member first- consider joining.

 Become a Member of this group to post in this discussion.

Search all PostsSearch Group Posts

Search MembersSearch All Members

Vegetarian Shirts