Join the conversation

How often do you cheat?

Technicality
Posted by Technicality at 01/15/2014

I am new to this forgive me. I am trying to eat no animal products and avoid gluten. When I have control over my schedule and situation this is not difficult.

I cheat sometimes, usually in social gatherings (like birthday parties). Nobody wants to be "that guy" that spoils a birthday party by saying "no dude I don't want to celebrate with you by eating animals, by the way happy birthday."

How often do you cheat? Do you feel bad? Is there forgiveness? How do you change? How do you deal with social pressure?

Responses

savetheanimals
savetheanimals01/15/2014 18:11:32
I am vegan. If you "cheat" your not vegan or vegetarian or anything else you "cheat" on. I don't cheat nether does any real vegan. If it is an honest accident that is different. I think your still vegan if it is an honest accident. If you want to avoid gluten that is fine. Gluten has nothing to do with veganism. If you cheat on gluten honestly I don't care but, you should also not tell people your gluten free. Until you stop cheating don't call yourself vegan or vegetarian. It destroys the definition of the words. Just tell people that you tend to avoid animal products and if someone asks if your vegan or vegetarian tell them no. I do hope that you do eventually become vegan. Here is a link to Gary Yourofsky's video: http://www.adaptt.org/life-changing-speech.html

Hopefully Gary Yourofsky's video will get you to actually become vegan. By the way I do respect people being gluten free even though I am not gluten free. I just don't care that you gluten free because no one is dying from you eating gluten. Animals are dying when you eat them. Veganism is ethical and gluten free is not. That does not mean there are not good reasons to become gluten free but, ethics is not one of them.
Slipper
Slipper01/15/2014 23:46:32