Join the conversation

I want to become a Vegetarian.

Laylita315
Posted by Laylita315 at 08/14/2013

Hi, my name is Layla. I've wanted to become a vegetarian for quite some time now. What has stopped me for so long is just my lack of knowledge and support. I would really love to get some information from actual vegetarians/vegans if any of you have the time. My questions are, how did you decide what type of vegetarian to become? What were your reasons for becoming a vegetarian? I personally would like to stop eating meat more for animal rights than anything. Also, do you have any tips for me? It will be a drastic change to my diet. I'm not sure if I'll feel great as soon as I change my diet, or if maybe I'll feel sick at first. What were your experiences when you decided to become a vegetarian/vegan? Thank you so much for your time!!

Responses

DC1346
DC134608/14/2013 13:29:42
Welcome to the site.

My name is David. I am a Culinary Arts instructor and I did not become vegan until 1 1/4 years ago.

Why did I become vegan?

I had an ovo-lacto vegetarian friend (who ate eggs and dairy products) who was concerned about her intake of saturated fats and cholesterol. Knowing that I was a chef, she asked me to create some low fat protein entrees for her. I immediately thought of vegan cuisine.

Since I don't like wasting food, it didn't make sense to me to create vegan entrees only to throw them away ... so I gave up meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, dairy products, and granulated white sugar (which is sometimes whitened using animal bone char) and went on an all vegan diet.

I have now been on this diet for 1 1/4 years and have found that so long as I have access to foods that resemble the non-vegan foods I used to eat, I could be perfectly happy on a vegan diet.

I have since published 4 vegan cookbooks as part of a series called The Unintentional Vegan.

Volume 1 is beef. Volume 2: Salads, Dressings, Dips, and Appetizers. Volume 3: Chicken. Volume 4: Pork.