Join the conversation

Older and Struggling!

Lindacblakeney
Posted by Lindacblakeney at 06/04/2013

I have been eating Vegan (with a few short lapses) for a couple of years. My problem is I am the only one I know that eats this way. My second problem is my mother-in-law cooks our evening meal every day. Although she generally makes sure there is at least one plain vegetable or rice and beans there for me, there is a lot of other things on the table that are sometimes hard to pass up. Not meat, passing that up is easy, but homemade bread or casseroles that I know contain butter, milk or cheese.

I started eating this way after reading The China Study, Engine 2 Diet, watching Forks over Knives, Food, Inc. and others. As I age I realize I need to take better care of this body that I have been given. there are still a lot of places I would like to visit, hiking trails I would like to hike, roads I would like to bike down, etc. Besides not contributing to the destruction of animals, I believe this is the answer to better health. I just struggle to stay true to this way of eating. All encouragement is welcome.

Responses

seanubs
seanubs06/04/2013 08:42:27
Don't beat yourself up, the more you feel guilty the tighter you are going to bind up your guilt. Just accept your mistakes as stepping stones to your goal not as failures. I am the only one as well, but you have to realize people look up to you for doing this and if they don't well they don't see the entirety of things. Even if you attend family gatherings, how awkward they may be, just remember that its the awkwardness that you are feeling that are saving tons of lives and just one person can make that difference.
trippinvegan
trippinvegan06/04/2013 12:33:53