Join the conversation

New and need advice

srambo718
Posted by srambo718 at 01/27/2013

Hello. Like the title says, I am new to being a vegetarian. My husband and I decided to go vegetarian starting on 1/1/13. We had horrible diets, ate tons of fast food and junk food, and were trying to loose weight with no luck. Then we watched a couple of documentaries about plant based diets and raw food diets, and after realizing the horrible health problems that come just from eating meat we decided to make the change. We are also huge animal lovers and have always hated the thought of the animal cruelty involved with the meat industry.
So far we have done great considering we both have been huge meat eaters all our lives. We made the change 'cold turkey', starting from 1/1/13 to eat no meat at all (and splurged the last couple of weeks of 2012 with our 'last days' of meat eating). We decided to give ourselves cheat days, that way if we were really craving meat or one of our favorite meals, we wouldn't feel so guilty for 'falling off the wagon' or anything like that. We planned on having 1 day a week at first, then work down to 1 a month, and so on.
I'm glad to say that today is day 27 and we haven't had one cheat day so far! We have thought about it a few times, but haven't really needed any cheats, and we are both feeling a lot better with our choice.