Join the conversation

Veganism while in college?

rebeckah41319
Posted by rebeckah41319 at 07/22/2013

I am an entering freshman in college, and have been working on making the transition into veganism over this summer. However, the university I will be attending only allows a microwave, blender, and a mini-fridge in the dorm rooms. (That means no crock pot, George Foreman grill, hot plate, etc.)

As a result, I am concerned about what to eat while there. Does anyone have suggestions on what to buy/stock up on food-wise, as well as simple recipes that could be made with minimal appliances and limited time?

Thanks in advance.

Responses

vegellie
vegellie07/22/2013 17:14:57
Hey! I'm a rising junior who has been vegan since before college, so hopefully I'll be able to help :). I think it really depends on where you are going - I go to school at Davidson in NC, which really isn't the most vegan-friendly place. However, there are schools that make a huge effort to have plenty of vegan options in their dining facilities, which you should definitely check out. Also, does your building have a kitchen? I'd search out if you have any health food stores around you and bulk up on more food you can blend or just defrost/not have to cook (unless you do have a kitchen in your building). Making friends that live in apartments is also great. My freshman year they always let me use their kitchen and I baked vegan cookies and vegan food for us. But, you can do a lot with just a microwave and a fridge. Any type of wrap, salad, what-not. Also, I think there's a college vegan cookbook that has a ton of recipes that you can surprisingly cook in a microwave. That might be helpful. But I've survived vegan! So, I'm sure once you get into the swing of how you can make stuff, you will, too :).
SummerPerkins
SummerPerkins11/03/2013 14:36:10
I'm in the same situation with limited kitchen facilities, so I feel your pain! Here are some suggestions: