Join the conversation

interview at artificial insemination co.

JoyComesInTheMorning
Posted by JoyComesInTheMorning at 05/08/2014

I have a degree in science and have a job interview next week at a company that creates artificial insemination products for cows. The product is described in this article:
www.cattletoday.com/archive/2008/February/CT1428.shtml

I looked up some articles online about the Dairy industry and I have come to the conclusion that it is a form of cruelty.

However, at the store they sell organic milk from cows that are allowed to graze freely in fields in the healthy foods section so I think maybe not all dairy products are made in a cruel manner. Because some dairy claims to be humanely produced I am not sure if it is morally wrong to accept the job at the company, since the treatment of the cows is on the conscience of the farmers and I am not sure I am working directly with the animals myself. I already work at a grocery store at present where I have to handle dairy products so I am supporting the dairy industry even if I stay in my present job and turn down the scientific job.

I am kind of getting the feeling like I want to reject the job at the artificial insemination company but I feel like I am going to the interview since I want to get practice with the interviewing. I get a tour of the facility and maybe at the end of the interview I can ask how much of their product is used by the more humane dairy producers who let their cows graze freely in open fields.

Responses

ahimsa32fa
ahimsa32fa05/09/2014 07:33:26
Dairy products are not healthy foods. Cow's milk is not the same of human milk.

Nature dictates that all mammals wean their young at an early age. Humans refuse to be weaned, and the cows suffer.

The vast majority of dairy cows do not lead a pleasant life, and their calves certainly do not (veal crate). And virtually all cows end up at the slaughterhouse, which I don't consider a good experience.
AndyT
AndyT06/18/2014 20:23:28