Join the conversation

Most urgent un-addressed animal issue?

cbg_37
Posted by cbg_37 at 07/22/2013

I'm a California resident and an academic with a business background. Much of what I've published is related to the human-animal relation, and since I'm a critical scholar, my work openly advocates for less or non-use of products that exploit and destroy non-human animals. I've resigned my position at the college (effective July 2014), and I'm taking my energy and advocacy for this issue into the not-for-profit sector.

I've done extensive research on the field to see where my energies might be most productive. I'd like to include in that research your thoughts. If you have a moment, please respond to this prompt:

What do you see as the most urgent animal welfare/rights/liberation issue (or issues) that is NOT being addressed (or is under-addressed)?

Really, these don't have to be long responses. I'd just like more input, and I thought the Happy Cow forum would be a great place to ask!

Thank you, in advance, for your thoughtful responses--I look forward to reading them!

my best,
Cathy

Responses

savetheanimals
savetheanimals07/27/2013 10:45:44
I saw on your happycow page that your vegetarian not vegan. I think the best thing you can do for the animals right now is go vegan.
The most unaddressed animal issue is vegan education. In Maryland there is a program called the vegan living program and vegans can be coaches to nonvegans: http://www.openthecages.org/vlp/coach.html I was one of the vegan coaches. I think you should set up a similar program. I think everyone should watch Gary Yourofsky's speech: http://www.adaptt.org/life-changing-speech.html